I am sitting on the front porch as I write this, which is fitting. For me, the essence of summer has to do with being outside in the sunshine and warmth. I not much for heat, but I do like warmth. And I like being outdoors, living my life outdoors, regardless of the weather. One of the things I like most about the Army and FAA was that I was so intimately connected with the weather. Flying is like that. Weather matters.

This afternoon I got out on the bike for an explore. I didn't have the camera with me but I did do some scouting for future shoots. I followed what used to be a back entrance to Durand Eastman Park but now is a dead end on both sides. A dead end, that is, for cars. No such problems for pedestrians or bicyclists who can become pedestrians at need. A return visit is forthcoming. T

The checkbook informed us that going out for dinner was not advisable, so Corky fixed up a full dinner. We ate in the dining room instead of on the fly wherever we happened to be. We broke out a bottle of honey wine, the next to last bottle from last Autumn's wine tour. Montezuma Winery does good work

Maybe a picnic tomorrow.

The essence of summer.


Picnic in the park - May 2013

Durand Eastman Park, on a warm Sunday afternoon last year.

Holga 120 Pinhole Camera
Kodak Ektar 100 color print film
Epson V500 scanner