I see twilight a lot these days. The sun sets early. It's a fine time for walking, or for paddling. I walked down to the bay yesterday evening; it's about a mile to the outlet bridge. I walked on out to the end of the pier. The sun had not quite set. The wind was high and the lake turbulent, a good day for sea kayaks paddled by those of greater skill than I. It was when I walked back to the the quiet of the bay that I thought wistfully of slipping the canoe into the sheltered water near the shore and exploring the coves beneath the hills where I live.

They don't seem like hills up on top; it's really quite flat before the land plunges into the bay. The houses near the top or bottom of the bluff are much grander than our little black a quarter mile inland.

I have a small bonus coming from work. Most of it will go against debts but I will get a set of mounting brackets so I can put the roof rack back on the car and have a way to get the canoe down to the bay.