I do believe that God has a wonderfully gracious sense of humor.
On most mornings, the phone is silently ignored until after I have finished praying Lauds, or Morning Prayer. This morning, however, I needed to make a trio of phone calls, one to the pharmacy to straighten out a confusing prescription order, one to physical therapy to set up an appointment, then to the surgeon's office to get an ok to resume pilates since a PT appointment was not available until the second week of January. So Lauds got interrupted to handle callbacks.
I had just finished reading Psalm 100 when the first round came in.
For the LORD is good and his love endures forever; his faithfulness continues through all generations.
I may have been thinking unhappy thoughts about what a bother all of this was as I turned to the "short reading".
Therefore I will boast all the more gladly about my weaknesses, so that Christ’s power may rest on me. That is why, for Christ’s sake, I delight in weaknesses, in insults, in hardships, in persecutions, in difficulties. For when I am weak, then I am strong. 2 Corinthians 12:9b-10 NIV
Now Paul was writing about a rather different set of circumstances, but the message was to the point, both humbling and comforting.
Relax already. God does need to have you, Mr Steve, at what you would prefer to think is your best in order to accomplish what he intends to accomplish in and through you. In fact, he seems to delight in using your weakness.
I was chuckling about the appropriateness of the reading as I turned the page and moved on to the Response.
In the morning make me hear your grace...
Show me the way I must go...
Which is pretty much what had been happening already this morning. And I thought back to those closing words of Psalm 100.
For the LORD is good and his love endures forever; his faithfulness continues through all generation.
Anyway, by the time I was done I was set up for both pilates and PT, and moving forward with the all the right folks to get the lower back problems resolved so I can continue on towards #AppalachianTrail2020 for #Birthday70.
Not shabby at all for an early morning's accomplishments.
#writewellness @magnoliayogabr #cultivatewellness