Today is the third Sunday of Advent. This morning I sat at home while Corky went to church. (I have not made a morning worship service since my back started acting up the beginning of November.) I was up mostly on time this morning, and feeling reasonably well and mobile, but I was moving much too slowly to make it happen. So I stayed home and finished my abbreviated morning prayers and reading.
Thankfully, I don't have to go out in order to meet God. Going out is good, especially when it means getting together with the community of the people of God for worship, but I also meet God by staying put and going within, which is what I did.
This evening I was one of the readers for our annual lessons and carols service. I could have begged off, but chose not to, even though it meant skipping a couple pain meds doses so as to be able to drive.
I am glad I went; it was was a beautiful service. We met God together, went within together, for God is not only within each of us individually, but within all of us, together. We have Jesus' word for it. He promised, "where two or three gather in my name, there am I with them." Amen.
#writewellness @magnoliayogabr #cultivatewellness